xrayxrayHome XRAY homeXRAY X-shopXRAY X-forumRCAmerica
supportsearchcontactguestbooksite map
newsproductsaboutusworldwide headlines


The Scorpion Modified title fight was a straight battle between Elliott Harper, winner of the first three events, and XRAY’s Olly Jefferies, who took the win at Round 4. Olly got proceedings off to the best start, topping the opening qualifier with his XRAY T4, ahead of Elliott and the trio of Matthew White, Chris Grainger and Alan Bickerstaff. Q2 moved Elliott to the top, setting the fastest time, Olly second and Alan third. Elliott topped the third round, ahead of Olly, Chris, Matthew and youngster Harley Eldridge. The final qualifier saw a titanic battle to decide pole position, with the two contenders never separated by more than a few tenths of a second. Elliott snatched the win, and with it the pole position, by just one tenth of a second in front of Olly. This moved Elliott one step closer to the title, giving him a five-point lead ahead of the single leg A Final.

click to enlarge
(click to enlarge)

Elliott and Olly led the field away, quickly building a gap over the chasing pack. Olly remained close behind Elliott, initially not quite close enough to attempt a move, but Elliott knowing one small mistake would likely see him lose the lead. Behind the leaders, Matthew, Alan, Chris and Harley raced hard for third place, and a potential third overall in the championship. Out front, the one mistake came, and it was from Elliott. Getting his car sideways at the end of the straight, Olly didn’t need to be asked a second time and snuck through the narrow gap to take the lead. Elliott continued to hound Olly for the remainder of the five minutes and, despite one moment where he managed to get alongside to attempt repay the favour, couldn’t find a way to pass. Thus Olly ran out the winner, with Elliott’s runner up position enough to see him lift the overall EWS Scorpion Modified Championship for the second consecutive year, with Olly second overall and Alan’s fourth place finish giving him third overall ahead of his team mates.

click to enlarge
(click to enlarge)

Scorpion Modified A Final Result
1. Olly Jefferies – XRAY T4
2. Elliott Harper
3. Matthew White
4. Alan Bickerstaff
5. Chris Grainger
6. Harley Eldridge
7. Alex Thurston
8. Phil Chambers
9. Mark Gilliland
10. Paul Pinkney

click to enlarge
(click to enlarge)

Scorpion Modified Overall Championship Result
1. Elliott Harper – 599
2. Olly Jefferies – XRAY T4 - 595
3. Alan Bickerstaff – 580
4. Chris Grainger – 576
5. Matthew White – 575
6. Harley Eldridge – 574
7. Paul Pinkney – 558
8. Alex Thurston – 556
9. Stefan Chodzynski – 542
10. Phil Chambers – 542

In the Wild Turbo Fan Super Stock Class, Zak Finlay got his run at the title underway by setting the fastest time ahead of XRAY team mate Marcus Askell. Richard King took third in front of the other main championship challenger Tony Broad. Marcus went fastest in the second round, ahead of Zak, Tony, Ben Pedersen and Daniel Blake, to lead an XRAY 1-2-3-4-5. Zak was back on top in the third qualifier, ahead of Marcus, Tony, and Ricky Copsey. Zak Finlay secured pole position and took a step closer to the WTF Super Stock Championship by going quickest in the final round ahead of Marcus, Tony, Ricky and Keith Dempsey.

Zak made a clean start at the front of the A Final, whilst Tony appeared to have found a little more speed and hustled Marcus from lap one. Whilst Tony and Marcus continued to fight, Zak got his head down and extended his lead out to around two and a half seconds. Tony tried everything he could, but the former series champion could not get past Marcus, who drove a perfect race under pressure. Therefore, out in front Zak had a lonely drive to secure both the win and the overall EWS WTF Super Stock Championship. Tony still finished second overall, with Marcus’ strong run of results in the second half of the season lifting him to third overall.

Wild Turbo Fan Super Stock A Final Result
1. Zak Finlay – XRAY T4
2. Marcus Askell – XRAY T4
3. Tony Broad – XRAY T4

4. Ricky Copsey
5. Richard King
6. Ben Pedersen – XRAY T4
7. Daniel Blake – XRAY T4
8. Matthew Worton – XRAY T4
9. Tim Hancock – XRAY T4

10. Keith Dempsey

Full results from R5, along with the Championship standings and Tech Charts which will follow shortly, can be found here: http://www.ewsevents.co.uk/race-results

The Organisers would like to thank all the series sponsors for their support, and most importantly all the drivers for being part of another successful year and the fantastic levels of competition this season.

The EWS Events team now have a short break before returning for the EWS International, (http://www.ewsevents.co.uk/2017-ews-international.html) which takes place 31 March to 02 April to round out the UK and European carpet season.

  T4 Is Double ETS Champion    
  XT8E Wins At 1/8 Off-Road ROAR E-Nats In US    
  GTX8 Is European Vice-Champion    
  XT8 Is US National Champion    
  XB4 & XT2 Are EOS 2016/2017 Champions    
  XB8E'17 Wins At The NEO Race    
  X12 Is Double European Champion    
  X12 Wins At 2017 ROAR Nationals    
  T4 Wins At 2017 TITC    
  XRAY T4 Double Win At Snowbird Nationals 2017    
  The largest and most powerful set-up sheet database in the world..    
  All artwork & webdesign by XRAY. All content © 1999 - 2009 by XRAY Terms of usePrivacy & security